For those not living in Euroland, an explanation: although each country has their own version of the euro coinage, the version stays more or less fixed. The exception to this is the two euro coin, which the countries can vary each year, if they wish. Germany has, indeed, chosen to vary the two euro coin, for the most part using an emblem for each of the constituent states (Bundesländer). 2009 is Saarland's turn and the church above forms the design.